Page banner image



The Society for Growing Australian Plants was founded by Mr. A. J. Swaby of Melbourne. For several years, from May, 1954, Mr. Swaby wrote a column "Know Your Natives" in the popular gardening magazine "Your Garden".

Regional & District Groups

ANPSA consists of eight affiliated Member Societies, one for each of the six Australian states plus the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.


The membership of the Society consists of people of all ages with broad and varying interests and backgrounds.

Australian Plants Award image

Australian Plants Award

The biennial Australian Plants Award was established in 1983. It is presented by ANPSA to people who have made an outstanding contribution to the knowledge of Australian plants, whether members of the Society or not. Since 1987 the Award has been made in both professional and amateur categories. The Award is made in conjunction with ANPSA’s Biennial Conference and Seminar.